SAVIR Announces January 24, 2018 Webinar

27 Nov 2017 1:08 PM | Elise Omaki (Administrator)


Consortium for Research on Pediatric Trauma and Injury Prevention: Learn About the Vision from NIH/NICHD


Hosted by the Society for Advancement of Violence and Injury Research


DATE & TIME

Wednesday January 24, 2pm Eastern, 1pm Central, 12noon Mountain, 11am Pacific
(Duration: 1 hour)


HOW TO REGISTER

Register online at:
https://savir.wildapricot.org/event-2740495


WEBINAR DESCRIPTION

With the launch of the Pediatric Trauma and Critical Illness Branch of the NICHD came new opportunities for injury and violence research. One of these opportunities is a recently revised and reissued PAR to develop Consortia for research on pediatric trauma and injury prevention (PAR-14-324). Join Dr. Valerie Maholmes, Director of the PTCIB, to learn about her vision for the Branch and for this new R24 consortium mechanism.


WHO SHOULD ATTEND

Injury and violence researchers and practitioners who are interested in learning more about NIH funding and the potential for building research consortia.


PRESENTER

Valerie Maholmes, PhD, Pediatric Trauma and Critical Illness Branch at the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development


Dr. Valerie Maholmes is currently the Chief of the Pediatric Trauma and Critical Illness Branch at the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development where she leads the Branch in supporting research and training in trauma, injury and critical illness across the continuum of care. She serves on numerous NIH and Federal Interagency working groups to further the mission and goals of the Branch.


Prior to joining the staff at NICHD she was a faculty member at the Yale School of Medicine in the Child Study Center where for nearly 13 years she served in numerous capacities including Director of Research and Policy for the School Development Program and provided an array of educational, clinical and technical support services to schools in low-income neighborhoods and communities around the country to promote child health and well-being. In 1999 she was named the Irving B. Harris Assistant Professor of Child Psychiatry.


In 2003, Dr. Maholmes was awarded the prestigious Executive Branch Science Policy Fellowship sponsored by the Society for Research in Child Development and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.


Society for the Advancement of Violence and Injury Research

Contact

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software